VA – Soul Hits of the 80’s (2004)

VA - Soul Hits of the 80's (2004)
Artist: Various
Album: Soul Hits of the 80’s
Genre: Soul, Funk, R&B
Label: Sony Cmg Mkt Group
Released: 2004
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
CD 1:
01. Juicy Fruit – James Mtume
02. Sanctified Lady – Marvin Gaye
03. Baby Come To Me – Regina Bell
04. Stop To Love – Luther Vandross
05. Let’s Hear It For The Boy – Deniece Williams
06. Caravan Of Love – Isley Jasper Isley
07. All Cried Out – Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam
08. Lovergirl – Teena Marie
09. Shining Star – Manhattans
10. Fall In Love With Me – Earth, Wind & Fire
11. Shake You Down – Gregory Abbott
12. Lovey Dovey – Tony Terry
13. Easy Lover – Phil Collins & Phillip Bailey

CD 2:
01. Encore – Cheryl Lynn
02. Ooo La La La – Teena Marie
03. Shower Me With Your Love – Surface
04. Lost in Emotion – Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam
05. Magnetic – Earth, Wind & Fire
06. All In My Mind – Full Force
07. How ‘Bout Us – Champaign
08. Heaven Sent You – Stanley Clarke
09. Here and Now – Luther Vandross
10. You, Me and He – Mtume
11. Dancing in The Sheets – Shalamar
12. Thigh Ride – Tawatha Agee
13. All I Want Is Forever – James Taylor, J.T, Regina Belle

CD 3:
01. Rockit – Herbie Hancock
02. Summer Nights – Grover Washington Jr.
03. Wishing Well – Terence Trent Darby
04. Oh Yeah! – Bill Withers
05. Save The Overtime (For Me) – Gladys Knight & The Pips
06. Sweat (Till You Get Wet) – Brick
07. Hydraulic Pump – P Funk All Stars
08. Love Attack – Issac Hayes
09. It’s Gonna Be A Miracle – Deneice Williams
10. Show Me The Way – Regina Belle
11. Nights (Feel Like Getting Down) – Billy Ocean
12. Just Got Paid – Johnny Kemp
13. Fake – Alexander O’Neal
14. Its No Crime – Babyface


A budget three-CD set, Soul Hits of the 80’s collects some of that awkward decade’s soul moments from the Columbia/Sony catalog. Note the author’s use of “moments” and the title’s use of “hits,” because they are, in fact, talking about the same songs. Not everything here was a hit, with some of the songs just squeaking into the Billboard Top 100; however, regardless of chart position, they do represent the era very well. There’s a broad range of work here, from jazz crossovers like Stanley Jordan with “Heaven Sent You” and Grover Washington with “Summer Nights” to straight pop crossovers like Deniece Williams with “Let’s Hear It for the Boy” and the classic and true hit “Easy Lover” by Philip Bailey and Phil Collins. Other actual chart-toppers here include “Juicy Fruit” by Mtume, Herbie Hancock with the seismic hit “Rockit,” and one-hit wonder Johnny Kemp with “Just Got Paid.” Luther Vandross, Teena Marie, Bill Withers, Babyface, and Regina Belle are a few of the others whose tracks pepper this 40-song (!) collection. It’s not definitive, but does a fine job of representing just how broad soul music’s reach had become in the ’80s.
Review by Wade Kergan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *