The Clinton Administration – One Nation Under A Re-Groove (2003)

The Clinton Administration - One Nation Under A Re-Groove (2003)
Artist: The Clinton Administration
Album: One Nation Under A Re-Groove
Genre: Instrumental Funk / Fusion / Jam Band
Label: Magnatude
Released: 2003
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
One Nation Under a Groove 4:50
(Not Just) Knee Deep 4:37
Cosmic Slop 4:57
Flash Light 6:54
Bop Gun (Endangered Species) 4:20
Mothership Connection (Star Child) 5:49
Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof Off The Sucker) 5:14
Up for the Downstroke 3:26
Chocolate City 8:03
Hit It and Quit It 6:15


The Clinton Administration was something of an ad hoc group centered around keyboard player Robert Walter and his percussionist Chuck Prada. What a great idea: throw together a band well-versed in all things George Clinton, and work up instrumental versions of tunes from the Parliament/Funkadelic songbook. Sounds simple enough, but things got really exciting in the execution. Walter brought together both the old-school in Clyde Stubblefield (James Brown’s drummer throughout the ’60s, the original funky drummer) and Phil Upchurch (who played on countless blues, jazz and R&B sessions, many during the heyday of Chess Records), and the new-school with DJ Logic, Skerik and Melvin Gibbs. Of course, it’s tough to go wrong with a set list like this; George Clinton can pile hooks on top of hooks on top of hooks in his tunes, but the fact is that these guys have all lived and breathed the Funk, and they just nail it as a band. Melvin Gibbs and Clyde Stubblefield would give any P-Funk rhythm section a run for their money, and Walter has all the right sounds on keys. Logic is his usual tasteful self, adding colors and details, but never overtly drawing attention. However, it’s Upchurch’s guitar playing that really sends things into the stratosphere. He does it all, from chicken-scratching funk to shimmering wah-wah to screaming distortion, but brings a slightly different flavor than the more rock-oriented P-Funk guitar army. A great time from start to finish, this album will get butts moving as though the Mothership itself has landed, guaranteed.
Review by Sean Westergaard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *