Roy Ayers Ubiquity – Everybody Loves The Sunshine (1976)

Roy Ayers Ubiquity - Everybody Loves The Sunshine (1976)
Artist: Roy Ayers Ubiquity
Album: Everybody Loves The Sunshine
Genre: Soul-Jazz, Jazz-Funk
Label: PolyGram Records, Inc.
Released: 1976
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
1. Hey Uh-What You Say Come On (Allen, Ayers ) – 3:45
2. The Golden Rod (Ayers ) – 3:03
3. Keep on Walking (Vannelli ) – 3:45
4. You and Me My Love (Ayers, OFerral ) – 3:11
5. The Third Eye (Ayers ) – 6:21
6. It Ain’t Your Sign It’s Your Mind (Ayers ) – 3:28
7. People and the World (Ayers ) – 4:48
8. Everybody Loves the Sunshine (Ayers ) – 3:59
9. Tongue Power (Ayers, OFerral ) – 3:02
10. Lonesome Cowboy (Ayers ) – 4:03


Roy Ayers’s had long made his shift into R&B/soul by 1976’s Everybody Loves the Sunshine. His recordings of this period can be very hit and miss, and in this particular record, you get both. The title track, “Everybody Loves the Sunshine,” is a quintessential song from the mid-’70s. While it might not have slammed the charts like Wild Cherry’s “Play That Funky Music,” it’s still a revered classic. It evokes that feeling of sweltering concrete in Brooklyn where the only relief is the local fire hydrant. Entirely sung by a choir repeating the same lines throughout, the rhythm section rolls along with a perfectly looped laid-back groove. It moves along lazily, hypnotically, and sluggishly as the sun slows things down to the right speed and “folks get down in the sunshine.” The rest of the album contains Ayers classics such as the burning percussive funk of “It Ain’t AYour Sign It’s Your Mind,” the spacey cosmic soul of “the Third Eye,” the bumping rubbery disco in “People and the World,” and the two horn-scorched closers “Tongue Power,” and “Lonesome Cowboy.”
Review by Sam Samuelson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *