Patrice Rushen – Watch Out! (1987/2012)

Patrice Rushen - Watch Out! (1987/2012)
Artist: Patrice Rushen
Album: Watch Out!
Genre: Crossover Jazz, Soul
Label: Funky Town Grooves
Released: 1987/2012
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
01. Watch Out! (5:28)
02. Breakin’ All the Rules (4:58)
03. Long Time Coming (4:56)
04. All My Love (4:53)
05. Somewhere (5:08)
06. Anything Can Happen (5:07)
07. Burnin’ (5:06)
08. Till She’s Out of Your Mind (4:13)
09. Come Back to Me (5:56)
10. Tender Lovin’ (5:07)
11. Anything Can Happen (East Coast Dub Mix) (5:59)
12. Come Back to Me (Extended Remix) (6:29)
13. Come Back to Me (Acapella Mix) (5:34)
14. Watch Out! (Extended Remix) (6:24)


Patrice Rushen’s Watch Out was the singer/songwriter/producer’s sole Arista album. The playful, upbeat title track single was a Top Ten R&B hit. The production duo of Jerry Knight and Aaron Zigman (the Jets, Natalie Cole’s Everlasting) contributes the crystalline ballad “Somewhere,” which was a popular radio-aired LP track, and the peppy, charting follow-up single “Anything Can Happen.” Other tracks to watch out for are the cute, mid-tempo “All My Love”; the tasty slow jam “Till She’s out of Your Mind”; the tumbling, funky third single “Come Back to Me”; and the rollicking “Tender Lovin’.”
Review by Ed Hogan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *