LaBelle – Nightbirds (1974/2015)

LaBelle - Nightbirds (1974/2015)
Artist: LaBelle
Album: Nightbirds
Genre: Funk, Soul
Label: Audio Fidelity
Released: 1974/2015
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
01. Lady Marmalade (3:58)
02. Somebody Somewhere (3:26)
03. Are You Lonely? (3:15)
04. It Took A Long Time (4:04)
05. Don’t Bring Me Down (2:50)
06. What Can I Do For You? (4:03)
07. Nightbird (3:10)
08. Space Children (3:02)
09. All Girl Band (3:51)
10. You Turn Me On (4:41)


The finest of Labelle’s original albums, Nightbirds was recorded in New Orleans with funkmeister Allen Toussaint handling the production chores and, one assumes, members of the Meters taking care of the session work. Worth the price of admission for the Bob Crewe-written “Lady Marmalade” alone, the album veers between the strutting New Orleans, horn-laden singles and more mainstream pop material.
Review by Rob Bowman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *