Howard Hewett – Allegiance (1992)

Howard Hewett - Allegiance (1992)
Artist: Howard Hewett
Album: Allegiance
Genre: Soul, R&B
Label: Elektra
Released: 1992
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
1. To Thee I Pray (Intro)
2. Save Your Sex For Me
3. Allegiance
4. Can We Try Again
5. How Fast Forever Goes
6. Can’t Get Over Your Love
7. To Thee I Pray (Interlude)
8. Say You Will
9. Take It To The Highest
10. From This Day On
11. Ronnie-O
12. Masquerade
13. Just Like A Woman
14. To Thee I Pray


Howard Hewett’s new CD Allegiance (Elektra 61393) may well be his very last for Elektra, since the album hasn’t taken off commercially in the US. It is obvious that his sophisticated style is all but fitting for current, hip hop dominated market, especially when there are only two dance tunes on the album. Of the 12 (full-length) tracks Narada Michael Walden has produced five, all of which are surprisingly soulful and Howard really puts his heart into songs like Can’t Get over Your Love and Take It to the Highest.

There’s also nothing wrong with the infectious dancer Save Your Sex for Me – well, at least if you ignore the lyrics. There’s also one ballad produced by Nick Martinelli, who does his usual, reliable work on the subtle Masquerade.

On the other hand, the Tommy LiPuma (who is perhaps best recalled for his work with George Benson and Randy Crawford)-produced cuts, as well as the sole Barry Mann production, are unashamedly adult contemporary oriented with their sugary and predictable melodies. And I have to say the two cover songs (Prince and Bob Dylan) didn’t knock me out either.

Given the right kind of material, Howard is a class soul act. Let’s hope he’ll get a new major deal if this album means the end of his Elektra period.
Reviewed by Ismo Tenkanen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *