Greyboy – Land Of The Lost (1995)

Greyboy - Land Of The Lost (1995)
Artist: Greyboy
Album: Land Of The Lost
Genre: Jazz-Funk
Released: 1995
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
Whirlwind (6:27)
Return To The Mountain (2:42)
Parkside Bounce (5:00)
Grey Royale (5:59)
The Real (5:47)
Land Of The Lost (7:08)
Top Floor (6:06)
Avalanche (5:55)
Singles Party – Part #2 (4:39)
Outerlude 2 (4:01)


Land of the Lost is an interesting collision of ’60s dance jazz and ’90s hip-hop. A tribute to his record collection and the “lost” musicians that inhabit it, this is much moodier than his earlier albums. Greyboy creates some haunting arrangements showcasing Karl Denson’s sax and flute. The head-bopping “Parkside Bounce” is a pleasure, as well as other mold-breaking songs like “Avalanche” and “Outerlude.” This album sticks to a formula which functions as its strength and weakness.
Review by Ryan Randall Goble

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *