Dazz Band – The Best Of Dazz Band (2001)

Dazz Band - The Best Of Dazz Band (2001)
Artist: Dazz Band
Album: The Best Of Dazz Band
Genre: Funk, Soul
Label: Motown
Released: 2001
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
01. Let It Whip [04:47]
02. Keep It Live (On The K.I.L.) [05:01]
03. Joystick [05:23]
04. I Might As Well Forget About Loving You [03:23]
05. Party Right Here [04:04]
06. To The Roof [05:26]
07. Swoop (I’m Yours) [03:36]
08. Invitation To Love [05:02]
09. Knock! Knock! [04:48]
10. Let It All Blow [05:54]
11. On The One For Fun [04:31]


An 11-song snapshot of the Dazz Band’s Motown stint that includes the not-often-featured “To the Roof,” whose origins date back to “Take It to the Woof” by Cleveland, OH-based funk band Morning Maniac led by ex-Dazz Band member Kenny Pettus who’s the lead voice on the Earth, Wind and Fire-ish “I Might As Well Forget About Loving You.” But other than that, there are no surprises, just straight-ahead digitally remastered Dazz Band blasts that blow you away in CD format (“Let It Whip”‘s bassline is hypnotizing). For lovers, “Invitation to Love” and “Knock, Knock” are bonafide heart stirrers and the only two slow jams in the bunch. Not as complete as the 1994 Funkology: The Definitive Dazz Band but dazzling enough.
Review by Andrew Hamilton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *