Curtis Mayfield – Give, Get, Take And Have (1976/2009)

Curtis Mayfield - Give, Get, Take And Have (1976/2009)
Artist: Curtis Mayfield
Album: Give, Get, Take And Have
Genre: Funk, Soul
Label: Victor Entertainment
Released: 1976/2009
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
01. In Your Arms Again (Shake It) (4:27)
02. This Love Is Sweet (3:11)
03. P.S. I Love You (4:00)
04. Party Night (3:53)
05. Get A Little Bit (Give, Get, Take And Have) (3:37)
06. Soul Music (4:02)
07. Only You Babe (4:22)
08. Mr. Welfare Man (5:36)
09. Only You Babe (Single Edit) (3:34)


Less sociopolitical than previous efforts, Give Get Take Have offers “Mr. Welfare Man” as its sole attempt to enlighten and enhance. Mayfield was obviously experiencing the joys of new love when he cut “Only You Babe” and “This Love Is Sweet,” and the tear-jerking numbers “In Your Arms Again” and “Party Night.” His aching falsetto coos and purrs, but sounds weakened on this LP. Overall, the album falls short of Mayfield’s former releases, but even great artists don’t always achieve their usual high standards. This was originally released on Curtom Records in the mid-’70s.
Review by Andrew Hamilton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *