Curtis Mayfield – Curtis (1970/2014)

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis (1970/2014)
Artist: Curtis Mayfield
Album: Curtis
Genre: Funk, Soul
Label: Curtom/Rhino
Released: 1970/2014
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
01. (Don’t Worry) If There’s Hell Below We’re All Gonna Go (7:52)
02. The Other Side of Town (4:03)
03. The Making of You (3:45)
04. We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue (6:05)
05. Move on Up (8:55)
06. Miss Black America (3:00)
07. Wild and Free (3:19)
08. Give It Up (3:44)


The first solo album by the former leader of the Impressions, Curtis represented a musical apotheosis for Curtis Mayfield — indeed, it was practically the “Sgt. Pepper’s” album of ’70s soul, helping with its content and its success to open the whole genre to much bigger, richer musical canvases than artists had previously worked with. All of Mayfield’s years of experience of life, music, and people were pulled together into a rich, powerful, topical musical statement that reflected not only the most up-to-date soul sounds of its period, finely produced by Mayfield himself, and the immediacy of the times and their political and social concerns, but also embraced the most elegant R&B sounds of the past. As a producer, Mayfield embraced the most progressive soul sounds of the era, stretching them out compellingly on numbers like “Move on Up,” but he also drew on orchestral sounds (especially harps), to achieve some striking musical timbres (check out “Wild and Free”), and wove all of these influences, plus the topical nature of the songs, into a neat, amazingly lean whole. There was only one hit single off of this record, “(Don’t Worry) If There’s a Hell Down Below We’re All Going to Go,” which made number three, but the album as a whole was a single entity and really had to be heard that way.
Review by Bruce Eder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *