Brighter Side Of Darkness – Love Jones (1973/2006)

Brighter Side Of Darkness - Love Jones (1973/2006)
Artist: Brighter Side Of Darkness
Album: Love Jones
Genre: Funk, Soul, R&B
Label: P-Vine
Released: 1973/2006
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
01. Just a Little Bit (4:38)
02. Oh Baby (2:52)
03. I Owe You Love (3:47)
04. Love Jones (4:31)
05. I’m a Loser (3:11)
06. Love Jones ‘instrumental’ (4:31)
07. Something to Remeber You by (3:08)
08. Just a Little Bit (5:45)
09. Summer Ride (2:25)
10. I’m the Guy (2:31)
11. Because I Love You [Bonus] (3:42)
12. Touchdown [Bonus] (3:36)


Other than the Jackson Five’s early Motown releases, and the excellent Curtis Mayfield-produced debut by the Five Stairsteps, the Brighter Side of Darkness’ Love Jones is one of the best teen albums ever. Twelve-year-old lead singer Daryl Lamont, like Michael Jackson, sounds like Frankie Lymon reincarnated. His youthful voice crosses age barriers. “I Owe You Love,” “Can I Come Over,” and the million-selling title track are all must-hear soul gems.
Review by Andrew Hamilton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *